Autonomy of Galicia

Autonomy of Galicia – collective name of the entirety of socio-political privileges granted to the region of Galicia in the years 1860–1873. The autonomy was introduced as part of the political reform of the Austrian Empire, transforming it into the dualist state of Austria-Hungary (1867), with considerable autonomy given to the countries of the Austrian Crown (including Galicia). In 1860, the so-called October Diploma announced the creation of provincial governments; in 1861, the so-called February Patent defined their competencies and the voting system. In 1867, the Austrian constitution regulated all matters connected to the political system. In 1869, Polish was introduced as an official language in the administration and the judiciary of Galicia; in 1871, the office of the Minister for Galicia was established. The central government authorities were represented by a governor, appointed by the Emperor and subordinate to the government in Vienna. District heads and directors of the police reported to the governor. The main body of local government authorities was the National Sejm, while education was supervised by the National School Council. Elected district and municipality councils constituted the local representation of the government. Executive bodies: the National Department, village and city heads, and city mayors in Lviv and Kraków. The Autonomy of Galicia remained in force until World War I.


  • Galicja w dobie autonomicznej (1850–1914). Wybór tekstów, ed. S. Kieniewicz, Wrocław 1952.
  • Grzybowski K., Galicja 1848–1914. Historia ustroju politycznego na tle historii ustroju Austrii, Wrocław 1959.

The entry was written on the basis of source materials of the PWN printing house.

In order to properly print this page, please use dedicated print button.