Province: Latvia / Doblen District (before 1939)
County: Jelgava / Jelgava (before 1939)
Community: Jelgava / Jelgava (before 1939)
Other names: Jelgava [official language]; Jelgava [English]; Mitau / Елгава / Митава [German / Russian]; מיטאַו [Yiddish]; ילגבה [Hebrew]
GPS: 56.6500° N / 23.7000° E, 56°39'0" N / 23°42'0" E


Jelgava (German: Mitau) – is a city in central Latvia about 40 southwest of Riga. Jelgava was the capital of the united Duchy of Courland and Semigallia and the administrative center of the Courland Governorate.


In order to properly print this page, please use dedicated print button.