The Synagogue in Szydłów (Targowa Street) was built between 1534 and 1564 as a
fortified defensive structure. Made of stone, the building has many outside buttresses and narrow windows crowned with round-headed arches. The embattled wall was rendered in the attic style. The prayer room, situated below ground level, is visually magnified due to the arched vault with lunettes and the windows, which make the interior brighter. On the eastern wall, there is a stone Aron Kodesh, which is framed by two pilasters with plant relief ornaments and two volutes. The synagogue was then rebuilt in the 18th century and many new elements were added, e.g. The women's gallery on the western side, which opens off the prayer room with four round-headed windows. During the renovation the interior was richly decorated with polychromes (unfortunately not preserved until today), created by Jehuda Lejb, the artist who had decorated synagogues in Działdów and Pińczów. The synagogue was devastated during the occupation, alongside the bimah and other furnishings. Following the World War II, the building was converted into a cinema and a warehouse. In the 1980's a complex renovation plan aimed at restoring the sacred character to the building was implemented. In the course of the works several unique wall lamps were found, which had been hidden by the faithful during the occupation period. Today, the renovated synagogue hosts a small exhibition of Judaica elements.

Point on mapa.szukacz.pl
Point on mapy.google.pl
 

Print